Dates and time formats and grouping into drilldown

Hey,
I’m new to Bipp and it looks like an awesome tool.
I’m creating my first project, and would like to have a couple of Columns in it. I have some experience with Looker.
I’m trying to display a date in a couple of formats - Full date, Month, Year, Timestamp.
I’ve tried using the format syntax without success.
Also would be cool if I could group these different columns under a drilldown. The documentation for that isn’t straightforward and there’s no example.

My current project looks like this:

table users_view
  data_source Cartloop BigQuery
  sql `cartloop-bigquery-321817.http_api`.`users_view`
  explore true
  column created_at_timestamp
    label Created At (Year)
    type datetime
    format yyyy```

But even this doesn't output the right format.
Any help would be appriciated.

Hi @benklinger

To extract full date, Month, year you can use EXTRACT functions from BigQuery
For example I have a date column in BigQuery database with “2020-05-15” value. Month and Year can be extracted from date column as shown in below example

column req_delivery_date
    sql req_delivery_date
    type datetime // DATE

column month_column
    sql EXTRACT(MONTH FROM  req_delivery_date)
    type datetime 
    drilldown month_drildown    // Hierarchical relationship between month and date column
      table history_data
      column req_delivery_date

column year_column
    sql EXTRACT(YEAR FROM  req_delivery_date)
    type datetime 
    drilldown yr_drildown  // Hierarchical relationship between year and month column
      table history_data
      column month_column

If you notice in above example, I have specified hierarchical relationship between Year, Month and Req_delivery_date columns. Once you save above datamodel and deploy it. You can switch to Gridchart visualization in dataviewer area. You will see + button on column header of Year column once selected. Clicking on + button will show Month column and so on.